top of page

A Great Day in Georgia

I awoke this morning and after the Chinese fire drill (feeding the dogs and cats their breakfast), I was able to enjoy a few moments respite drinking my coffee on the deck and wait for any little woodland creatures who wanted to wander through my back yard. Creighton Anderson and I have plans to do a little sightseeing today, mainly to ward off boredom and relieve stress.

We started our sojourn in Chickamauga, Georgia. The route took us through Chickamauga Battlefield. It is somewhat difficult for me to visit the park because my husband loved it so. He has been gone 1,095 days today. Tomorrow will be three years. The main thing I wanted to see was Long Street's Charge. There used to be a restaurant there by the same name. It was where my husband and I went for our first date 41 years ago. The restaurant is gone, but the buildings are now private residences. We did meet some nice people. We also stopped at Crawfish Springs and were going to the mill, but they're tearing it down. My husband, Gene, and my daughter, Laurel, at Chickamauga Battlefield 35 years ago. Yes, I know it looks like I was married to Fidel Castro.

My husband, Gene, and my daughter, Laurel, at Chickamauga Battlefield 35 years ago. Yes, I know it looks like I was married to Fidel Castro.

As we went through the quaint, old part of town, I noticed that a lot of the little historic shops are now shuttered or replaced with more modern businesses … or none at all. We finished Chickamauga around lunch and decided to eat at the Sunrise Diner in Lafayette, GA. Little did I know that when we arrived in Lafayette, the Sunrise has been replaced with a Japanese restaurant. We knocked around town a little and it was our good fortune to come upon the most impressive hole-in-the-wall on Chattanooga Street.

The Station House at 123 N. Chattanooga Street in Lafayette, GA

The Station House on Chattanooga Street in Lafayette, GA

Our wonderful proprietor of The Station House: Chailada Hanchanlash. Thank you for the Creme Brule!

Our wonderful proprietor of The Station House: Chailada Hanchanlash. Thank you for the Creme Brule!

Black Forest Ham ... Yummy!

Black Forest Ham ... Yummy!

 

Creighton enjoyed the divine Chicken Salad. She said it was the best she had ever tasted. We joined the birthday club and plan to go back on September 26 for Creighton's birthday! Something else to bring a smile to my lips!

We finished the day with a walk down by Tiger Creek of the South Chick in Ringgold. What a way to end the day! All in all, today gets an A!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page